The Year of Prayer

As cheesy as it sounds, 2012, for me, is the year of prayer. Last year was The Year of Hardwork, and, in my attempt to finish my PhD dissertation, it was quite appropriate. This year, I really felt compelled to focus on prayer.

The main reason for this is that I am actually uncertain about my future. I am not exactly sure why God wanted me to go through a PhD, and I feel as I reflect on the answer, I need to spend time in prayer… thanking God for the journey I have been through, and praying that God will clarify my future.

Another reason why prayer is so important for me this year is because, completing my dissertation, I am tempted to get “straight to work”. The feeling that I should act, do things, and even the expectation for me to be involved in so many things, is overwhelming. But also needs to be tempered by prayer… understanding God’s perspective in these matters… getting God’s guidance for any new proposal or project I am involved in. This is a dire need, and I need to pray.

A third reason why I am focussing on prayer is the simple reason that I don’t quite understand it.  Why should we prayer, remains a mystery. I still do it, knowing that outside my understanding there is truth that I need to obey: “pray”! But honestly, I do struggle to understand why, an allknowing God, wants us to pray. I am also unsure whether we can affect any course of event through the prayer (ie. I know God cannot be controlled by external forces, so is prayer a force that we think exerts God?). I would love some clarity… and so this year is a hope to gain clarity in this.

So anyway… so far I have done some praying. But lately, not enough. Here’s to the hope that I will pray more, much more, this year.

God, my father, teach me to pray.

0 Responses to “The Year of Prayer”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

My Archives

Passage for this Season

Philippians 2:11-13 (NIV) (12)Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed—not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence—continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling, (13)for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.

