Single Screen Charm

Being in Chennai, I had the option to watch a few movies in theatre.

Usually, multiplexes have dominated the Indian cinema scene, but one of the theatres close to my home was Ega Theatre, a single-screen theatre (actually a double screen now, but it was a stand-alone theatre). It was a huge auditorium, with about 1000 seats, unlike a multiplex which would have about 200-300 perhaps. Sitting in the theatre made me nostalgic, because all the movies I saw in the past were in theatres like this, with a balcony on top and the stalls below.

When I sat to watch the movie, the sound was really excellent. And the movie would best be experienced in a full-house. Sadly, the theatre was largely empty.

But it was nice to enter a movie theatre and exit a movie theatre after the movie was done, without the whole distraction of the mall.

The tickets were also cheaper than at the multiplex.

Plus, the parking was only Rs. 20. Whereas in a multiplex in Chennai, you could pay 40-50 rupees (this is for a 2-wheeler).

I really enjoyed the experience at Ega. And wished I had more opportunities to watch movies in theatres like this.

0 Responses to “Single Screen Charm”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

My Archives

Passage for this Season

Philippians 2:11-13 (NIV) (12)Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed—not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence—continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling, (13)for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.

