Journey with Jeremiah: Quiet Time Reflections – 1

Recently I have started reading Jeremiah for my quiet time. I actually felt God wanted me to read it, considering there were so many “signs”. However I must confess that I was feeling so much guilt that I wanted a book that would judge me.

But there was one prayer I prayed just before I started, and I think it was an appropriate start to this book.

I admitted to God that I found the Bible difficult to understand, and even God difficult to relate to on a personal level. And I prayed that if God was really speaking through his word, then I wanted to experience God’s love through a difficult-to-read book like Jeremiah. I mean, it’s easy to see God’s love and God speaking through Philippians etc. But what about Jeremiah. Did God really speak, can God really speak, through this book? I really wanted God to, and I didn’t want to take the easy way out. So here I was, reading.

But the first few chapters were difficult. I found myself straying, and not able to remember what I read the previous day.

The theme that I remembered was that God was judging Judah, but the nuances of the message (if any) escaped me.

But then I had an idea. I would mark my bible, underlining any verse I found significant, write (on the bible) any idea I got. (I know, I know, most people do this anyway, but of late I have been just reading the Bible and not marking). So starting from Chapter 4, I think, I started marking anything/everything I found remarkable.

And suddenly, as I started reading the Bible like an academic book, (to study it), the book became alive. I was able to see connections, symbolisms, multiple themes. It was wonderful, and I found myself not only understanding, but wanting to read more.

No longer was Jeremiah a painful to read book, but it was alive/fresh with God’s love/concern for his people.

And so now it is no turning back. My Jeremiah Journey will definitely involve a much closer look at the text. That’s what I have been trained to do, and strangely, that’s what I enjoy doing.

Hopefully, in this process, (and I’ve finished till chapter 10 I think), I will understand God more clearly… and learn to experience his love more deeply.

0 Responses to “Journey with Jeremiah: Quiet Time Reflections – 1”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

My Archives

Passage for this Season

Philippians 2:11-13 (NIV) (12)Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed—not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence—continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling, (13)for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.

