India losing, again :( theology of cricket

Watching India get creamed in a do-or-die cricket match (against Australia in Guwahati, 8 Nov, 2009), I wonder why India losses affect us so much, even Christians. I mean, I know sport is just a game. But that it affects moods, is unquestionable.

But why should it affect me as a Christian who understands that all this is just a game… and there are more important things in life?

I know I could answer this by saying that I’m still human, I’m still Indian, and thus being an Indian remains the core of my being and thus I will remain attached to my context (and rightly so) even while also existing as a Christian.

Yes, that’s fine. But I don’t want losses in a cricket match to bother me so much.

I mean, why doesn’t the Narmada Dam bother me so much? Or the Kashmir problem, Naxal problem, Corruption, and … etc etc etc.

I’ve become desensitized to India-problems, and yet remain deeply attuned to the sporting fate of the cricket team.

Hmmm! So there does seem something wrong here.

And yet this post is a confession rather than an actual answer. And so with this I go back to feeling bad that the Indian cricket team is losing!

2 Responses to “India losing, again :( theology of cricket”


  1. 1 Ranga Karanam November 21, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    Looked at your site and liked it.

    Interested in exchanging links with me? Indian Cricket

  2. 2 Charles December 5, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    Very thought-provoking article. I agree with you that cricket does affect us, but may many other things that you mentioned also keep sensitizing and provoking us.


Leave a Reply

Categories

My Archives

Passage for this Season

Philippians 2:11-13 (NIV) (12)Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed—not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence—continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling, (13)for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.

