Preaching on Independence Day

India FlagI just preached a sermon for the Indian Independence Day (August 15), and I must say that it was the worst sermon I had ever preached (not that I have preached much). But this one was really bad. The night before I had three sermon ideas, a few hours prior I decided on the fourth, and then when I woke up an hour before the actual service, I changed to the first idea I had! So obviously, the sermon was haphazard, all over the place, disjointed… But there was a message. And I still stand by it (even if it was poorly delivered) and here it is.

Nehru gave a “Tryst with Destiny” speech
at the night we received independence. I pointed to the key portions of the speech, particularly the optimism. But I also pointed to my own (and my countrymen’s own) cynicism. If anyone talked like Nehru today, we’d laugh… and certainly not believe him.

But going to the Bible, I drew attention to Romans 8:18-25:

I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us. The creation waits in eager expectation for the sons of God to be revealed. For the creation was subjected to frustration, not by its own choice, but by the will of the one who subjected it, in hope that the creation itself will be liberated from its bondage to decay and brought into the glorious freedom of the children of God. We know that the whole creation has been groaning as in the pains of childbirth right up to the present time. Not only so, but we ourselves, who have the firstfruits of the Spirit, groan inwardly as we wait eagerly for our adoption as sons, the redemption of our bodies. For in this hope we were saved. But hope that is seen is no hope at all. Who hopes for what he already has? But if we hope for what we do not yet have, we wait for it patiently.

I noted a similar hope and optimism, one that heralded a new dawn (rather than being aware of 2000 years of historical baggage). Today it is easy for Christians to look at that text and feel it applies only to an unseen future. However, Paul was filled with optimism about the hope that was ALREADY here… and only just beginning.

Like, Nehru, therefore, we needed to capture a new optimism about our country, and about our faith. And more importantly an integration of our faith with our love for our country. That integration of vision, must be a hope for our country, and a hope for a better world… all within the hope that we have in Christ Jesus. Because of Jesus, we share in Nehru’s vision. And because of Jesus, we still have hope.

So that’s the basic gist. I won’t get into the details of how I messed it up. But the sermon ended with the song of hope… Blessed Assurance. And if that song applies to something that we have today, then it was truly the perfect ending to the message… and I had nothing to do with it!

1 Response to “Preaching on Independence Day”


  1. 1 glacsraj August 14, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    sound great!


Leave a Reply

Categories

My Archives

Passage for this Season

Philippians 2:11-13 (NIV) (12)Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed—not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence—continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling, (13)for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.

