“Namaste London” and Indian culture

I found an interesting movie review of “Namaste London” not for its dealing with the movie, per se, but especially for its dealings with the issue of identity.  The author of the post (rightly, in my view) points out the error in the need to justify identity by demonising the other. Here are some excerpts:

[Namaste London] is yet another movie that tries to picture Indian culture as the all good-good and the most ‘sanskari’ culture in the world. Ironically, it is so fragile that it has fallen prey to the demon of western culture….

…[The main character] has to prove that the West, its culture and its people are inferior to us. I wonder if we need to demonise other to prove our worth.

I am an Indian. I love my country, I love my culture. I have confidence in the strength of my culture; and do not feel the need to demonise the West to show me the worth of it.

2 Responses to ““Namaste London” and Indian culture”


  1. 1 Soumyaranjan Dash August 26, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    Definitely a good Indian culture movie!

  2. 2 Sandeep September 1, 2008 at 8:23 am

    Who ever reviewed the movie has got it wrong. The crux of the move is not to show the superiority/inferiority complex. It about a persons conviction and his fight for love. The scenr you refer to is spot on in which the west views India ( snake charmers /call centers) and the responce to that by akshay was appropriate. What you talk as “fragile Culture ” is not fragile at all. India has evolved , learnt and grown….and if you give the name to that change as “fragile” that your interpretation…. from where i see it , we have moved forwared and acepted the good things from the west …yet kept core Indian values and traditions. Values we have are stronger than ever.


Leave a Reply

Categories

My Archives

Passage for this Season

Philippians 2:11-13 (NIV) (12)Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed—not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence—continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling, (13)for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.

