Speed Racer is a surprisingly fun movie

I must admit that I didn’t want to watch Speed Racer. Worse, when I saw some promotional footage I found the manic pace and presentation mind-numbing. In fact, when the opportunity came to watch Speed Racer, I preferred to stay home and I literally took out a Matrix Revolutions DVD and watched it late into the night!!! (that’s nostalgia for you)

Anyway, so just today I got to see Speed Racer and struggled for the first few minutes getting exactly what I expected… manic presentation. I shuddered to think that I would have to subject myself through this for another hour. But then, the story slowed down a little and suddenly it made sense. I was able to follow the plot… and basically it turned out to be a simpler more palatable story.

By the end of the movie, I was not only appreciating the pace of the film, but left feeling satisfied with another summer-fare.

So what’s the problem? Well, while I enjoyed the movie… I found myself wishing for a little more realism. The cartoony filming became tiresome quite quickly and I found myself wishing for a more realist race. OK, fine, the jumps and the effects were cool… even in the end… but the whole background, the graphics, were too overloaded for my taste… and ultimately… I found myself blanking them from my vision (and hopefully memory).

All in all… it’s a movie I DID enjoy… but one I won’t be rushing to see again, any time in the near future.

0 Responses to “Speed Racer is a surprisingly fun movie”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

My Archives

Passage for this Season

Philippians 2:11-13 (NIV) (12)Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed—not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence—continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling, (13)for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.

