5 most wanted sequels

Back to the Future IIIThere are two kinds of people in the world; those who love sequels, and those who don’t. I love sequels (though not all sequels are good). Yes, I’m shallow, but still, I love the character/plot development possibilities that sequels brings.

The following is a personal compilation of the movies I really really really wanted a sequel for. Sometimes I got it, sometimes I didn’t. Sometimes the sequel was worth waiting for, sometimes not. But nevertheless, my memory of movies takes me to about 5 films that I looked forward to (will look forward to) to see the sequel.

1. “Back to the Future” series

When I first saw Back to the Future as a child, I was enamored by the story and shocked and excited when it ended with “To be continued…” I remember as a child wanting to immediately see the rest of the story, but I had to wait. Eventually Back to the Future II was released and I remember watching it with my friends… and yet again, it ended with “To be continued…” The “awwwww” in the room when we saw the sign were audible for miles, I think. We never anticipated (as children) that Back to the Future would be a trilogy, it took us completely by surprise. But we really enjoyed the experience of waiting for the story to enfold. Till today, while it is not the best trilogy ever, I think it still remains the most anticipated sequel of all time… in my mind.

2. Matrix 3 (Between Matrix 2 to Matrix 3)

I remember loving Matrix, and being a little surprised at the announcement that they were making a Matrix 2 and 3. It seemed like a sell-out (compromise kind) at the time. But when I saw the trailer of Matrix 2, I was in love with the movie already. And actually I loved “Reloaded“. When it ended… in the middle… I was drooling for more. Till today, I must add, the Matrix remains my favourite trilogy.

3. Incredibles

Super-hero movies are made to be remade. I realised the truth of that after seeing Pixar’s Incredibles. What an amazing story of an amazing family. But it ended just when we were getting into it. I want more, I don’t know if I’ll ever see more, but I certainly want more.

4. Lord of the Rings 2 (between 1 and 2)

Many people I know didn’t expect Lord of the Rings I to end where it did. I did, because I’d read the book (yes it is actually one book, not three). And I knew after seeing such an excellent part I that I wanted to see the rest… the whole story. I waited and waiting… and was shocked at the outcome (Part 2 was terrible, for LOTR-book fans, I think). But still, I really wanted part II and thankfully even though after part II I didn’t really want Part III, at least Part III saved the series a little.

5. Pirates of the Carribean 3 (between 2 and 3)

Oh I loved the Pirate movies, of course Part I, people will say, was the best. But somehow I like seeing films as they develop and now feel that all three actually work together quite well. Still, I loved the Part II ending, not just the (spoiler) Jack dying part, but the Captain Barbosa return (end of spoiler). What an ending! It certainly left a thirst for more, a lot more.

(not on the list)

Star Wars

I saw Star Wars: Return of the Jedi (now VI) first. And so the desire for sequels was already quenched. In a sense, going to Star Wars was an exploration of Prequels and I enjoyed IV-V-VI a LOT! But the other three, hmmm. The less said about them, the better. I wasn’t even looking forward to them.

Anyway, that’s my two bits. On to other things of life

1 Response to “5 most wanted sequels”


  1. 1 Zane April 27, 2011 at 7:20 am

    And I am a person who doesn’t love sequel. I hate waiting for something. It is better for me to watch one movie in repeated times but it is not the sequel one.


Leave a Reply

Categories

My Archives

Passage for this Season

Philippians 2:11-13 (NIV) (12)Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed—not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence—continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling, (13)for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.

