The problem of pain

Right now I am going through a really painful illness. The sad part is that it is a recurring illness, that was earlier sorted out through surgery. It was a very painful affair earlier, and now this seems to be heading towards another painful affair.

I have prayed and prayed… and cried to God to save me. But at the moment it doesn’t seem as if God has heard my cry. I’m getting worse and worse, it seems.

Obviously, I immediately recall Job (from the Bible, Book of Job)… who probably had the most pain of all… at least more than me… and then God helped him through the pain and get over the pain.

But that story doesn’t really comfort me… just gives me a theological reason to continue to trust God.

I wish this pain would go away. I really wish God would do a miracle and heal me instantly. I also wish that I will not have to go through surgery… or something like that… to get rid of this.

But even as the above seems unlikely, I know that God is not always the God of instant miracles. His work takes time, sometimes a lot of time (from my perspective), but his work gets done.

This doesn’t help me feel less pain, but it still helps me. That’s because I remember God’s personal dealings in my life… when such pain has been overcome through God’s help. It’s no longer someone elses story, but my own.

And that personal memory gives comfort.

So right now, even as I squirm in pain and type (I type partly to distract myself from the pain)… I also know that God wants me to continue to look to Him, through this pain… and see his healing miracle… which will come… in His time… and strangely… that hope… helps.

1 Response to “The problem of pain”


  1. 1 David May 2, 2008 at 6:37 pm

    Praying for you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

My Archives

Passage for this Season

Philippians 2:11-13 (NIV) (12)Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed—not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence—continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling, (13)for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.

