“Where have you been?” Here’s my answer, Avatar

Dear Avatar,

You just wrote a comment asking me where have I been. And I’ve been around. Busy as usual, with daily living.

But why haven’t I written? is probably what you meant to ask. And I must say that I am just too discouraged.

I don’t know if you have been following up the Tehelka story, where the group in a sting operation found many “leaders” (politicians etc) claiming to have brutally killed some muslims.

And then, instead of a national outcry… there have been accusations about the ethics of journalism, political hue and cry about proModi and antiModi… congress vs bjp etc etc all non-sense.

Rather than we Indians see the evil and decry it, we have so quickly moved away from it… and politicised it. Its almost that we don’t want to see (we cannot see) evil.

Just today I read this article in rediff (and here’s the link: http://www.rediff.com/news/2007/nov/07guest.htm ) about how very little has been done about the whole Tehelka thing.

Now I don’t know anything about the author and I’m neither pro nor anti Outlook, but what discouraged me was the comments by some people. I’m clipping some of the sample comments.

godhra carnage was pure handiwork of congress leaders with muslim gangs n groups by enticejuan on Nov 07, 2007 07:23 PM

Muslims just keep crying all the time and keep blaming RSS/VHP , but RSS or vhp or any hindu group not even harm muslim even half of muslim done to hindus all the years n centuries. Till today u see everywhere muslims r goon n terrorists and killing 1000 hindus everytime throught out the year in bomb blast or small fights they are like killing machines no rss or vhp ever worked or killed as killing machines had they started it not a single muslim would been in this country.

Can you hear the hate and blindness? Rather than decry the violence, it has become a political and religious issue. I mean this is not about muslim and hindu. it’s more than that. It’s about people… but somewhere, people are forgetting that they are normal people, being hurt.

Another comment below… which again tries to evade the issue…

tehelka by bholanath worlikar on Nov 07, 2007 07:19 PM

i just wonder who the tehelka people blame during partiton when 10 lakh people died. congress, muslim league or the british.

I mean why are they questioning tehelka? why aren’t we all criticising the ministers for being so callous about their words and other people’s lives?

And it just goes on and on. While many comments do focus on and decry the evil… most people are making it a political issue about muslims vs hindus, congress vs bjp, godhra vs 1984 etc etc etc.

When I was reading it I just felt that as Indians we’ve crossed the rubicon, we’ve become people of hate… or rather, more accurately, hate has been unleashed within us. It did not come from foreign powers, it came from within… and whether christians, muslims, hindus… whoever… congress, bjp, jds, whatever… evil is evil. And suddenly, we’ve lost sight of it and only see it in others.

And so I’ve just been so angry and discouraged with what has been happening that I haven’t been able to write. I just feel there is no point, no hope.

Of course, my own faith, my belief is that the only way to stop it is to overcome the evil not outside us, but within. And I need God’s help to overcome this evil. And that’s the hope I’m holding on to… but that’s my personal hope… if I say it out loud… it looks like (sounds like) I’m forcing people to convert!!! but that’s the only way I know, and yet, I know that without that… there is actually no hope. and right now, it really looks that way.

But who cares, who is listening, right?
Thanks for your comment, and urging me (indirectly) to write again,

NAyK.

2 Responses to ““Where have you been?” Here’s my answer, Avatar”


  1. 1 Avatar November 9, 2007 at 12:13 am

    First of all, I want to tell you “Never lose Hope”.Hope is the biggest thing . You might see unusual situations or absolute stupid comments by people but that should not make you a disbeliever in humaneness .Although I surely know that you are wiser than me, I feel it’s my responsibility to show you that world always had a few good men/women and a bunch of nitwits as well.

    That Tehelka episode has shocked me. It sometimes makes us
    really mad when we clearly ‘see’ the state sponsored genocide
    and people trying to forget it so soon.

    Sometimes I do feel that a person with proper spiritual upbringing would make things better for the society.
    One more thing, you need not go in to a cocoon hiding your religious thoughts fearing the prejudices against you by close minded Homosapiens .

    As of now, I cannot ask for God’s help but I feel that we as a normal beings can think and change perceptions for the greater good.

    Finally , A Happy Diwali to you. :)

  2. 2 NAyK November 9, 2007 at 2:46 pm

    To Avatar: Happy Diwali to you too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

My Archives

Passage for this Season

Philippians 2:11-13 (NIV) (12)Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed—not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence—continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling, (13)for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.

