Dreamgirls: excellent beginning, but…

One reviewer said that “Dreamgirls” was good, but not great. I would have to agree. When I saw the beginning of the movie I was thoroughly floored by its energy, it’s coolth, it’s pace… But then, what can be described as Act 2 (when the Effy ‘relationship’ develops), its starts becoming soppy. By the end of the movie, you wonder what movie you were watching in the beginning, hence Dreamgirls exchanges brass for ballad.

But all this is not that bad a thing. Dreamgirls tryes to be historical accurate in terms of music, and can perhaps epitomise the time that tried to find a “new sound” which meant the rejection of the old exciting times… (possible spoiler *as Eddi Murphy’s character epitomises so well*). So that’s good.

Personally, because I’m not a ‘westerner’ some of the music is too loud and screechy. Yes, the music has passion, like “I’m not going anywhere” or “listen”. But I found myself forgiving the tone by remembering Whitney Houston singing “And I’ll always love you”… and  remembered that I guess this kind of music WAS popular for sometime.

I liked the characterisation too… Eddie Murphy’s character, and his portrayal of it… were brilliant. In fact, other than Jamie Foxx who was utterly terrible in portrayal! the rest of the cast was excellent.

On the whole, I enjoyed watching the movie… and would recommend this film to myself more than Chicago which I can’t get myself to see.  But at the end, a musical will always draw some people and put some people off… personally, Dreamgirls was worth being drawn to.

0 Responses to “Dreamgirls: excellent beginning, but…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

My Archives

Passage for this Season

Philippians 2:11-13 (NIV) (12)Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed—not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence—continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling, (13)for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.

