India’s greatest ODI XI (cricket team)

In response to the Australian best ODI team (Australia’s greatest ODI XI Adam Gilchrist (wk), Mark Waugh, Ricky Ponting, Dean Jones, Steve Waugh (capt), Michael Bevan, Andrew Symonds, Shane Warne, Brett Lee, Dennis Lillee, Glenn McGrath, Greg Chappell), I guess the question is which ‘indian’ team could beat them, as well as which Indian ODI team is the ‘best’. Here’s my answer.

India’s greatest ODI XI (cricket team)

1. Sachin Tendulkar (also when he could bowl)
2. Saurav Ganguly (also for some bowling, captain)
3.  Virender Sewhag (also some bowling)
4. M.Azharuddin
5. Rahul Dravid (later in his career, when he improved as a ODI player)
6. Yuvraj Singh (also  for his bowling option)
7. MS Dhoni (wicket-keeper) vice captain
8. Kapil Dev (obviously!)
9. Anil Kumble
10. J Srinath (at his best)
11. Zaheer Khan

What is interesting is that there are many already in the current team. I actually believe we’re sending the best combination… largely because we have the best ODI keeper-batsman India has seen (Dhoni). Our fielding is still weak. And we’re still struggling to find bowlers who can keep the score under 300! But still, there’s a chance.

My assumption is we win the toss and bat second! And let our master blaster’s take it from there. If we were batting first, I think I would need to strengthen the bowling… perhaps a fifth bowler, but I have no idea who would be best as fifth bowler.

Notice, I have Ganguly as captain. Simply assuming this is Ganguly at his best and Ganguly at his captaincy best.

The problem is literally the bowling. And I feel we don’t have enough firepower. I understand the argument of including Bishen Singh Bedi, but he is not tested enough in the ODI arena.

Since Australia are using Symonds as their fifth bowler, I think i would use Ganguly (if pacy wicket) and Tendulkar/Sewhag/Yuvraj (if spin friendly) to complete their 10.

Leave a Reply

Categories

My Archives

Passage for this Season

Philippians 2:11-13 (NIV) (12)Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed—not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence—continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling, (13)for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.

