Jesus and the Garbage: a ‘christ-n-culture’ poem

What would Jesus do about the garbage dump?
Would he shut his eyes (and nose) and walk past
Or would he be really angry and blast
The BMC (our local Muncipal Corporation) for their negligence?

Or would Jesus do what we did?
Would he file a lengthy report, with dates, photos and figures
And submit it to the police, charging the BMC chief of negligence
And run around the Vidhan Soudha’s bureaucratic mess

Or would Jesus display his power?
Would he call upon his angels to do a massive clean up act
And put up road-blocks and attack
The trucks that brought the garbage?
(and bring fire from heaven on those who burned the garbage!)

So what would Jesus do?
Would he care that we suffer from smell and smoke
Or would he joke that
We should at least be happy that we’re not going to hell!!!

Jesus, we don’t know what is best to do
But we confess that we are all the cause of the garbage in the world
After all, we humans have messed up your world
So Lord, help us clean up our act
Help us to recycle, use less plastic
And dispose our garbage properly.

4 Responses to “Jesus and the Garbage: a ‘christ-n-culture’ poem”


  1. 1 Avatar March 3, 2007 at 10:56 am

    good one .. your invokation of Jesus in this context does really show your artistic flavour and make Jesus the ultimate good do-er of all times.
    so dear friend ,how Jesus would help us in cleansing the garbage?

  2. 2 NAyK March 3, 2007 at 6:16 pm

    To avatar: I do not believe that “Jesus is the ultimate good do-er of all times.” Meaning, I don’t think Jesus is normative for all people on this earth who do not believe in him. Other people have other gods and therefore other norms.

    However I understand my God Jesus as the ultimate good-doer “for me” (and perhaps for those who believe in the same ‘God’ as I do). *Because* he is my God. Which is why I look to him to show me the way.

    What would Jesus do to help us in cleansing the garbage? Well… the answer is long, and I think in trying to answer I would be reflecting my own need for the solution. But do have some thoughts about what *I think* he would do… but I don’t think this space can be the space to provide my perspectival ‘answers’… about Jesus’ actions.

    Thanks again for your comments.

  3. 3 Avatar March 3, 2007 at 9:32 pm

    so could you elucidate the point ” believing Jesus”… i really don’t understand that phrase when my Christian friends say to me .
    i believe him indeed as much i believe Buddha and other peace makers
    and also i believe u know that most of the Indians are not exclusivists.

  4. 4 NAyK March 5, 2007 at 3:52 pm

    to avatar: ‘believing in Jesus’ Hmm. That’s a difficult thing to answer in a short post or comment. Perhaps you should read the Bible directly… and maybe things will make more sense than me or your Christian friends are able to explain. If you find something difficult to understand in the Bible, then I’m sure someone could be willing to help.
    Most Indians are not exclusivists… I guess that is true in the urban-middle class kind of world. But I’m not too sure.
    I think the true test of exclusivism or faith is whether you or I are willing to DIE for our beliefs (NOT KILL for our beliefs)… and so I guess, once we’re willing to die for something… also means there’s some belief we want to LIVE for. In such a scenario… where life has purpose that is controlled by passionate belief… then there is a healthy exclusivism (though not necessarily a negative attitude towards other faiths).


Leave a Reply

Categories

My Archives

Passage for this Season

Philippians 2:11-13 (NIV) (12)Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed—not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence—continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling, (13)for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.

