If India went to war… What would the Indian Church say?

I praise God that we are in a time of peace. Of course India has many internal conflicts, both explicit and hidden. However, we are not at war; and that is something different, to be valued, to be preserved as long as possible and to be thankful for. I also praise God that I’m not American or British. Man, I don’t want the Iraq war in my conscience. I don’t care what Bush or Blair say about their faith, but as a Christian I would definitely question their motives and policies that have led to such atrocities in Afghanistan and Iraq. But that’s not my battle, and I’m thankful.

Hopefully to keep us thinking and prevent us all from being complacent, the following are just some questions to the Indian Church

However, it does make me think. If India were to go to war, against anybody, what would the Indian Church say? At the moment I am happy with my country’s policy to maintain civil relations with neighboring nations. However, shouldn’t I (we) as a citizen(s) be more actively involved in promoting internal and external peace?

Hopefully to keep us thinking and prevent us all from being complacent, the following are just some questions to the Indian Church:

IF INDIA WENT TO WAR… (God forbid!)

Would we in the Indian Church have a consistent voice? Would we be silent? Would we be too late? Should we have spoken out earlier? Will we support the Government? The soldiers? Will we help in the Peace/Medical Corp.? Will we volunteer to join the army? Will we avoid a Draft? Will we oppose the war? What kind of war would we support or oppose? Will Medical Colleges volunteer to aid the wounded? What will Churches preach on Sunday? What will we say to our children?

Of course there are no easy answers, but sometimes a good question is all it needs to get us to think and act rightly. At least as Christians we can start ‘acting’ by praying to God for peace, even as Jesus is our peace.

May God truly bless India with peace (in accordance with His will and good pleasure.). And may God give us wisdom to act rightly, always.

0 Responses to “If India went to war… What would the Indian Church say?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

My Archives

Passage for this Season

Philippians 2:11-13 (NIV) (12)Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed—not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence—continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling, (13)for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.

