Quick Review: Da Vinci Code

Da Vinci Code (The Movie) wasn’t that bad.

Da Vinci Code PosterI found the film “softer” than I expected in terms of its challenge to Christianity, and I guess the movie investment was so high that they wanted to minimize the risk.

In effect, the argument made solely through the movie is largely sketchy and unconvincing. I guess the book makes a slighter better case against the Christian narrative; but since I’ve not read the book, that’s just a guess.

Back to the movie… I felt it was finely crafted. I did feel Tom Hanks looked too old and jaded, but in the movie his character worked reasonably well.

I enjoyed the quest angle; and it felt like a more serious version of National Treasure.

The pace of the film was also good; and it didn’t drag too much, and kept me reasonably engaged.

All this “middle-ground” critique suggests that while I liked the movie, I didn’t really love it. I enjoyed watching it, but I don’t think I’d watch it again any time soon.

If I was to grade it like a paper, I would most easily give Da Vinci Code a “B”… effective in accomplishing its goal, but never excelling/pushing the limits.

0 Responses to “Quick Review: Da Vinci Code”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

My Archives

Passage for this Season

Philippians 2:11-13 (NIV) (12)Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed—not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence—continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling, (13)for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.

