Quick Review: V for Vendetta

V Still
I saw this movie more than a few days ago. But it merits some comment because it hasn’t entirely left my mind.

The movie is done more simply that one would expect. Not too many movie-theatrics… by which I mean special effects… and too much attention to technique. In fact… there is only one scene where special effects look “special” and that’s the end fight scene which interestingly was highlighted in the trailer… perhaps to sell more tickets. In fact, the special effects in the movie seem mediocre… especially the explosion in the beginning. Pretty weak.

I somehow found the “masked” character less disconcerting than I expected; especially after the trailer. However the back-story to why V wears a mask seemed simplistic.

It had a sort of minimalist feel… which is something I feared before watching it… especially post the Matrix era… I do like visual stimulation.

So I guess that leaves us with a story and characters; and it is on this level that V for Vendetta works.

I was surprised by the humanity of the portrayal; the realism within the bizzare; and also the ability to involve us in a story that’s not about us… really.

Plus, it worked as a simple morality tale… ie… can make “people” think. And that too was nice to see.

On the whole; a watchable and engaging film. Not for everyone… but at least for a few.

1 Response to “Quick Review: V for Vendetta”


  1. 1 scidrew January 5, 2010 at 6:09 pm

    Nice site, I haven’t heard of this movie.


Leave a Reply

Categories

My Archives

Passage for this Season

Philippians 2:11-13 (NIV) (12)Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed—not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence—continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling, (13)for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.

