Pixar’s next: The trail has begun

So I was just browsing AppleTrailers and happened to see this Trailer.

My first impressions of the Ratatouille (oh it’s so smart to give the phonetic hint rat-a-too-ee) was that I was intrigued and yet only mildly excited. I know it agrees with my view that Pixar should be a little more multi-ethnic… but then, France… hmmm… I guess that is a safe bet.

I was most surprised by the director credits: Brad Bird! I didn’t realise he was doing this. I thought they had another director on the helm. Thus, I guess it would be exciting, but the trailer just didn’t hit me. Maybe the marketting people wanted something like this to excite the audience, but I think a better ‘teaser’…

no, no… what I find most disconcerting is that ‘fat’ rat next to the main character. He seems so cliched/typical. And suddenly I can already predict some of the jokes of the movie. Hmmm…. even the father/son relationship depicted seems overblown and stereotyped.

So, Pixar’s supposed to be strong in story and character. I wonder what will come up. I just didn’t feel attracted to these characters or storyline.

Of course the animation quality looks great (and I saw the HD trailer). But still, I wonder if this was the best option.

I did feel the same thing about Cars though, when I first heard the concept, and it turned out to be an ok film. But I guess we expect more than ok from Pixar and of course Brad Bird!

Anyway… the following is the “official” synopsis of the movie taken from here.

“After taking audiences on incredible journeys to the worlds of cars, superheroes, fish and toys, only the amazing storytellers at Pixar Animation Studios (“Cars,” “Finding Nemo,” “The Incredibles”) could create an entirely new and original world where the unthinkable combination of 5-star restaurants and rats come together for the ultimate fish-out-of-water tale.

In the new animated-adventure, RATATOUILLE, a rat named Remy dreams of becoming a great French chef despite his family’s wishes and the obvious problem of being a rat in a decidedly rodent-phobic profession. When fate places Remy in the sewers of Paris, he finds himself ideally situated beneath a restaurant made famous by his culinary hero, Auguste Gusteau. Despite the apparent dangers of being an unlikely – and certainly unwanted – visitor in the kitchen of a fine French restaurant, Remy’s passion for cooking soon sets into motion a hilarious and exciting rat race that turns the culinary world of Paris upside down.

Remy finds himself torn between his calling and passion in life or returning forever to his previous existence as a rat. He learns the truth about friendship, family and having no choice but to be who he really is, a rat who wants to be a chef. Directed by Academy Award™-winning Brad Bird (“The Incredibles”) and co-directed by Academy Award™-winning Jan Pinkava (“Geri’s Game”), RATATOUILLE is slated for release on June 29, 2007.”

0 Responses to “Pixar’s next: The trail has begun”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

My Archives

Passage for this Season

Philippians 2:11-13 (NIV) (12)Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed—not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence—continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling, (13)for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.

