Favourite Hindi Movies (by Era)

Partly in reponse to the previous post, and partly because I have been thinking about updating my own favourite Hindi movie list. I started by trying to make a top 10 but it was impossible, because the genres are so different. So instead, I’ve roughly classified my current list of favourites by eras. Recent era = 1990-current. Middle-era = movies made in the 70s-80s. And the early era are movies prior to the 70s. The dates are approximate, but they help me to fit in many more movies that I would like to see listed as my favourites.

Evidently, I display ingnorance about the arthouse movement of the 70s/80s as well as the classic movies of Indian cinema. I may not be able to overcome this lack, but at least this I can consider this list as a preliminary starting point.

Currently, I have not been able to put them in any particular order because the criteria for position is also too difficult. Still, this is a rough indicator of Hindi movies I like.

Recent Era: 1990 to today

Lagaan
Parinda (1989)
Dil Chahta Hai
Black
Rangeela
Lage Raho Munna Bhai
Rang De Basanti
Vaastav
Swades
Deewar (new)
Omkara
Munna Bhai MBBS
Bluffmaster
Jaaneman
Pukar (Anil Kapoor)
Lamhe
Ghulam
Viraasat
Dilwale Dulhanyia Le Jaayenge
Ghayal
Hum
Jo Jeeta Wohi Sikandar
Dil Hai Ki Manta Nahin

Middle Era: 70-80

Sholay
Chupke Chupke
Anand
Satte Pe Satta
Gol Maal
Aakrosh
Jaane Bhi Do Yaaron
Khubsoorat
Ardh Satya
Trishul
Karz
Meri Jung
Karma
Amar Akbar Anthony
Hero
Kalicharan
Shaan
Arth
Saaransh
Ghulami

early Era: 70s and before

Jaal (1952)
CID (1956)
Padosan
Mr. & Mrs. ’55 (1955)
Hum Dono
Guide
Kal Aaj Aur Kal (1971)

4 Responses to “Favourite Hindi Movies (by Era)”


  1. 1 pallavi December 12, 2006 at 11:00 am

    its auseful site but as a student of cinma i want some thing on costumes too.
    thanks

  2. 2 NAyK December 12, 2006 at 11:19 am

    to pallavi: Wow costumes? That’s way over my league. when I look at a movie, I guess I’m looking at the way it impacts me, and usually bypass the costumes unless it’s really terrible. the same goes for technical excellence I guess. For students of cinema, I would recommend… http://www.thefilmjournal.com/index.html though it is mainly on world (english?) cinema.

  3. 3 BollywoodRocks August 9, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    One of the best movies lists I have seen. There are some movies, especially in the first section, that I don’t LOVE, but there are a lot of movies that I absolutely adore on your list here.

  4. 4 pranav punj February 9, 2011 at 2:33 am

    this would engross me to know about the films more and it increases my knowledge atleast.It is probably a good site for movies…


Leave a Reply

Categories

My Archives

Passage for this Season

Philippians 2:11-13 (NIV) (12)Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed—not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence—continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling, (13)for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.

