Top Ten CG Animation Movies

Incredibles

This list is made on the basis of which CG (Computer Graphics) movies I enjoy watching. As you can see, I’m a big pixar fan!

1. Incredibles

What a mind-blowing growing-up of the animation genre!

2. Finding Nemo

Exquisite and heart-warming, it was a tough decision to drop this to no.2.

3. Monsters Inc.

I tend to forget how good Monsters Inc. really is. But when I watch it, I find it easily making to the top-three.

4. Ice Age

I was recently re-watching Ice Age and I got a shock that I had actually forgotten to put it on this list. That error has since been rectified! One of my favourite non Pixar films, it easily makes it into the top-ten best.

5. Up

I just saw it, and I would say this is the most ‘serious of all the Pixar (and CG animation movies) out there. I saw it with near-teens and I felt bad for them, they probably expected a movie with more laughs. But I don’t know how themes of death and old-age will gel with them, but I loved the movie. Will explain sometime why it’s not the best.

5. Wall-e

I said in this post, that Wall-e is the fourth best pixar film, but I don’t think it’s the fourth best animation film. As a story and ‘human’ element (as ironic as that sounds)… Ice Age above is better. But that’s not to say that Wall-e is not a good film. It’s excellent, heart-warming, touching and brilliant. Just not the best.

6. A Bug’s Life

Another Pixar classic, for a long time was one of my favourite animated movies.

7. Ratatouille

It’s easy to give a movie, recently seen, a high rating, but I’ve had some time to think about it, and in comparison to the list below, Ratatouille is excellent. But in comparison to the list above, Ratatouille is just not as good as the greats. I think that’s mainly because of it’s weak lead up to the climax (all the rats cooking). Otherwise a visual and heart-warming treat.

8. Shrek and Shrek 2

Evidently, I’m a Pixar fan. But, both Shrek movies were really good. I enjoyed Shrek 2 better because it felt more mature; they toned it down when I expected them to crank up the volume from the first one. But don’t get me started on Shrek Three which was simply terrible!

9. Cars

This top ten list was made when a friend asked me about my views of Cars. I really enjoyed Cars, but I couldn’t put it above the other Pixar classics. Grudgingly I put it above Toy Stories… but that is simply because I would love to watch Cars again.

10. Toy Story 1 & 2

I saw Toy Story 1 in the movie-theatre. And I thoroughly enjoyed watching it then. Later, in comparison to other Pixar movies, I remembered thinking it was outdated. But when I recently saw Toy Story, I saw that the quality of animation was not bad, but I was also surprised by how engaging (and memorable) the story/characters actually were. In fact, Toy Story 1-2 are such good movies that if a better animation movie comes along, I think they would still remain in my top ten, while Shark Tale might disappear out.

— the also rans–

11. Kung Fu Panda

A movie just marginally better than Shark Tale and Monster House, it is shocking that that Anime Awards chose it as the best Animation Feature (and a host of other awards) above Wall-e. A simple disgrace to affirming excellence. Anyway, that rant apart, Kung Fu Panda was fun. Though I still say that while as an overal movie Kung Fu Panda was better than Shark Tale, in something things Shark Tale was funnier.

12. Monster House

An excellent movie, about children and fear. But it is spoiled a tad by an over-the-top ending that makes it a little too cartoony. Otherwise and excellent, excellent movie.

13. Shark Tale
I started liking this movie the more I watched it. Favourite character Martin Scorsese.

14. When I saw Over the Hedge I enjoyed its energy and commentary on suburban (human) life. Due to its fun element, it was actually more consistent of a film than Happy Feet, hence gets the vote above it, however, it still doesn’t replace Shark Tale which remains a number above.

15. Surf’s Up

Interestingly, this movie is a better movie and a better penguin movie than Happy Feet, which eventually looked too grandiose. Surf’s Up is a simple, but watchable tale.

16. I just saw Happy Feet and I must say I liked it. In fact, as a concept it’s one of the best animation films, but because of its mixed presentation and message it ranks as an if-only film… ie. if only they had done this or that and it would have been better. I found the music good, but not entirely accessible to a common non-western viewer like me. Plus, the ‘relationship’ between parents and child, and mumble and that other girl penguin, seemed like cliches, and not fully developed.

17. Bolt
Finally, with Bolt, Disney 3D animation gets it right (remember the atrocious Meet the Robinsons?). And this movie is fun and touching at parts. But the more I see it, I know it’s more a coming of age for Disney Animation, and not so much a great 3D computer animation movie as its predecessors. It’s a nice movie. Fun. Exciting. Certainly worth a watch. But just too simplistic at times. It keeps reminding you that you’re watching a cartoon. What’s with the hamster in the ball, please!

(Qualification… the reason Wallace and Gromitt, Chicken Run and Miracle Worker don’t feature, because I have classified them as a separate animation (not CG animation) category.)

11 Responses to “Top Ten CG Animation Movies”


  1. 1 mr noitall July 26, 2007 at 7:49 am

    animation is an art form not a genre

  2. 2 NAyK July 26, 2007 at 10:52 am

    To mr.noitall: (nice name) :)

    That’s like saying fiction is an art form not a genre. All fiction (animation) needs art. And yet it also refers to a body of work that uses that type of art.

  3. 3 anaamica August 27, 2007 at 3:14 pm

    As I was reading your list, I was checking which of them I have watched. I was shocked that I have watched only 7 of them! Apart from these 7 which I thoroughly enjoyed, I also liked Beauty and the Beast and Barbie and the twelve dancing princesses. (None from Pixar)

    In Beauty and the Beast, I was surprised to see the movie making an impact on me even when I knew the story. I liked the characterization a lot.

    Barbie and the twelve dancing princesses was visually very appealing. The dances, the twirling and the flowing skirts – oh, it was a pleasure to watch.

  4. 4 tim August 29, 2007 at 5:21 pm

    NAyK: sorry, animation is a means to producing an idea, it isn’t a genre. different genres can exist in within animation, but animation by definition simply isn’t a genre.

  5. 5 NAyK August 30, 2007 at 10:32 am

    To Tim and Mr. Noitall: OK, I concede. “Animation” in technical parlance is not a genre and refers more to the process or a category. I guess this list refers to a type of movie; made with certain tools “Computer 3D Graphics Animation”.

    I would still argue that since there are a growing number of movies that use this tool, and since the word genre is defined (for eg by Wikipedia) a having “vague categories with no fixed boundaries” and that “Genres are formed by sets of conventions, and many works cross into multiple genres by way of borrowing and recombining these conventions”…

    …I believe more and more that the field fo 3D animation coming from America is developing a set of conventions. So, while Animation, even my usage, CG 3D Animation, is not a genre, but more a category like newspaper, or novel, a type of art form using a type of process, still there is a genre-specific differentiation between American 3D Animation and Japanese Animation; which I am still not so sure about. And perhaps I want to simply highlight the form AND content specific differentiation.

  6. 6 jojoi February 6, 2009 at 10:46 am

    Kung fu Panda was also great and very fun!

  7. 7 Muneer Ahmad February 21, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    Thkx for the list what is CG is it programe for making animation

  8. 8 JJ April 3, 2010 at 4:06 am

    where is
    – antz ( great, heavily underrated)
    – open season (funny and also touching)
    – madagascar (at least 1 very funny)
    – Horton Hears a Who (dunno, but my kids loved it)

    I mean, you got “cars” in it, and it was so … “musical” style, so I wondered how some really great pictures failed.

    best regards,
    JJ

  9. 9 adam December 5, 2010 at 2:28 pm

    Top ten pixar movies???

  10. 11 Scant May 8, 2011 at 9:32 am

    Sorry,. but Shrek wasn’t a Pixar film it was DreamWorks.

    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0126029/companycredits


Leave a Reply

Categories

My Archives

Passage for this Season

Philippians 2:11-13 (NIV) (12)Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed—not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence—continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling, (13)for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.

